Being in a creative business is hard work! I have found that I absolutely can’t be creative on demand. This is part of the reason I don’t take custom orders for my work. As soon as there is a deadline I get anxious and I think it shows in my work. I have to pick up the needle and thread when I am inspired and hit the potter’s wheel when the clay calls me. It’s a bummer to get in a rut and loose this creativity, maybe even for weeks at a time. What do you guys do to get inspired?

Here is a list of my personal favorite creative slump busting activities!

1. Go outside – There is so much inspiration out there. Whether you live in the city or the country. I personally live in a big city, so I love seeing street musicians, or the beautiful murals around town. I also like to just sit on my balcony and take in the few. Looking at the color combinations that are attractive helps with color choice. Things that look good to you look good for a reason – take notice!

2. Go to a museum or art gallery – Looking at other people’s work can be really inspiring. Not only from the “oh I like that and maybe I could use that idea” standpoint, but also getting motivated to get some stuff done yourself. When I see a big gallery, I think, boy I should get crackin’!

These are paintings from a show I did in NYC, I am sorry but I can't remember the artists or gallery!! Please forgive me!

3. Do something other than your craft – Just take a break! Maybe it is for a day, or a week, but somtimes time apart does make the heart grow fonder. I am a fan of gardening or tanning by the pool. These things can decompress my brain from either my day job or my crafting business.

4. Look at other blogs – Check out people doing the same kind of stuff you’re doing. Look at other beautiful crafts and get inspired to make your own. You don’t have to go to a gallery or craft fair because so much can be found right here on the web!

Here are some of my favorite blogs:

Attic24

Anna Maria Horner

Fresh Lemons

Red Pepper Quilts

Now my question for you is, how do you get creative? What motivates you to keep churning out your craft?

